BBC: Bike polo re-cycled

BBC online did a sweet photo piece on the resurrection of bike polo as a popular sport, comparing some great candid vintage shots from the 40’s with the modern day equivalents. Recently I’ve observed a lot of the polo guys moving over to a freewheel set-up, and I wondered why people still use fixed gear bikes, I mean obviously there’s an added element of control over the bike that anyone who has ridden fixed will acknowledge, but the ability to coast when hitting the ball would seem to me an advantage, but then again I was rubbish at it. I didn’t realize that traditionally bike polo was performed on brakeless bikes which share a striking resemblance to modern day polo whips, nice one BBC. Check it HERE

Leave a Reply

